(Oates, Joyce Carol)


: http://www.harpercollins.com/author/microsite/About.aspx?authorid=7275

Joyce Carol Oates
Photo By Marion Ettlinger

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. She has written some of the most enduring fiction of our time, including the national bestsellers We Were the Mulvaneys and Blonde (a finalist for the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize), and the New York Times bestsellers The Falls (winner of the 2005 Prix Femina Etranger) and The Gravediggers Daughter. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978. In 2003 she received the Common Wealth Award for Distinguished Service in Literature and The Kenyon Review Award for Literary Achievement, and in 2006 she received the Chicago Tribune Lifetime Achievement Award.
Official Websites
Syracuse University (BA)
University of Wisconsin-Madison (MA)
Awards & Honors
BlondeNational Book Award Finalist, 2000
BlondePulitzer Prize Finalist, 2001
ThemNational Book Award, 1970
The Gravedigger's DaughterNational Book Critics Circle Award Finalist, 2007
Pen/Malamud Award for Short Fiction, 1996

eXTReMe Tracker